older(s)
now

pooDesigns
dLand


I feel: The current mood of an_unquiet_mind at www.imood.com



Tweety's No 1 Fan!


avatar 6/4


32 flavors and then some...

// mental "health" (haHAH) history
| 09/02/2003 - 4:21 p.m. |

Dr. McR.,

I am currently trying to schedule an assessment at Renfrew. However, the first step in doing so is verifying insurance benefits and this has turned out to be a big giant mess. It is a long, complicated story but apparently I don�t actually have any right now.

The bottom-line is that to get my coverage reinstated I need the form I am sending you to be filled out (the side that says �Certification of Attending Physician�) and for Blue Cross/Blue Shield to approve this �Application to continue coverage for handicapped dependent child.�
[great, another fucking label. and i do believe the pc terminology is 'disabled', thank you very little.]

I am also including an outline of my mental �health� and treatment history. I�m not really sure how much, if any, of this info you actually need, but my mom especially is concerned re: question #4 on the form about the fact that although my depression and ED clearly �existed� long prior to my turning 19, I was never diagnosed nor treated until shortly after.

As we already have a phone appt. set up for this Thursday, hopefully we can fully take care of this then. If you could give me a quick call when you get a chance today to let me know you�ve received this fax, I would appreciate it. My new # is ***-***-****. And of course if you have any questions about it before Thurs.

Thanks,
M.C.

~~~~

Age 14:
--first depressive episode that I clearly recall
--depression fairly chronic with varying levels of severity since then

Age 16:
--first eating disorder (ED) symptoms
--early on mainly massive taking of over-the-counter diet pills, laxatives, diuretics
--restricting, excessive exercising, vomiting, occasional mild binging to a somewhat lesser extent
--minimal weight loss

*no treatment as no one �knew�*

Age 18:
--freshman year of college at GWU
--ED mostly in "remission" this year

Age 19/20:
--fall semester: most severe depressive episode up to this time -->
initial lack of appetite and significant weight loss clearly resulting from depression -->
but soon triggers ED relapse
--leave school a week early, take incompletes in 4 classes, receive outpatient treatment for depression/anxiety for the first time in December 1996

--return to GWU for spring semester, but end up being admitted to GWU Hospital�s adult general psych ward about 2 weeks in (Jan. 26-31, 1997)^
--transferred to ED unit at BCCT (Feb 1-14, 1997)^
--on medical leave for above 3 weeks, then return to school and resume classes

--re-admit self to BCCT April 7^, initially take another medical leave, later withdrawal from whole semester, don�t ever return as student to GWU
--get �kicked out� of program at BCCT April 14^
--admit self to ED unit at JH April 17^, in-patient about 2 weeks, day-patient and live at �FH� until discharged June 27^

--first begin working with long-term therapist (C.K., MSW, LCSW) upon returning to Ph.
--and another in-patient BCCT admission August 29-September 2^
--several weeks as a day-patient
--re-admit myself inpatient for short period, September 19-23^, due to feeling particularly suicidal
--back to day-patient, now living at �BH�, until January 2, 1998^ discharge

Age 20-23/1998-2001:
--continued outpatient therapy with C.K. through December 2000
--returned to school full-time Sept 1998 at DU, graduated with B.S. in Psychology June 2001
--�ups and downs� during this time with occasional mild-to-moderate depressive episodes and minor ED lapses but overall in active recovery and progressively healthier and more stable

Age 24-25/2001-2003:
--began Clinical Psychology PsyD program at CSPP Sept 2001
-- December 2001: beginning of current depression (definitely the longest, most treatment-resistant, and most severe/disabling ever)�
--took leave from school academic year 2002-03; again will not be returning
--moved back to Ph. July 2003�


^dates to the best of my recollection and what I could confirm from looking at my old journals^



| <--sometime | whenever--> |